Is this really a 9.6?

General discussion about CBCS Grading.

SweetComic
Sidekick
Sidekick

Re: Is this really a 9.6?

Postby SweetComic » Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:57 am

I'd probably give it a 9.4 only because of the bottom left corner but i'm no expert.

Prophet_DNA
Webmaster
Webmaster

Postby Prophet_DNA » Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:58 am

Does it? Please explain why you think it is overgraded...
- Jason

SweetComic
Sidekick
Sidekick

Postby SweetComic » Wed Sep 10, 2014 11:01 am

This is the standard for a 9.6 taken directly from the CBCS website.

NEAR MINT + : 9.6

This is close to mint with some minor defects. Even though some defects are allowed in 9.6, certain defects, such as tape, are never allowed in this grade range.

Slight stress on the spine.
The staples themselves are generally centered clean with no discernible rust.
Maybe some minor color has chipped or flaked off the cover.
The cover is flat with no surface wear. Inks are bright with high reflectivity and very little fading. Square and sharp corners with ever so slight blunting permitted.
You can tell that this comic has been stored properly and looks almost as new as the day it was printed.
The smallest amount of creasing
All bindery tears are small.
Only some binding and/or printing defects allowed.
Cover is fairly well centered and firmly secured to interior pages.
Paper is supple and like new.
Spine is tight and flat.
Unobtrusive date stamps or arrival dates in pencil or ink are acceptable.
Many pedigree collection comics have a notation on the cover or the interior of the comic and are considered a bonus to collectors as they help prove the provenance of the comic.

Number 6
Sidekick
Sidekick

Postby Number 6 » Wed Sep 10, 2014 12:45 pm

SweetComic wrote:I'd probably give it a 9.4 only because of the bottom left corner but i'm no expert.